The Walter Scott Prize was founded in 2009 by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch and honours the legacy and achievements of Sir Walter Scott, “founder of the historical novel”.  Awarded at the Brewin Dolphin Borders Book Festival in June, the winner receives £25,000, and each of the shortlisted authors receive £1,000.

The Walter Scott Prize, worth £25,000 to the winner, has named Boyd’s Sweet Caress (Bloomsbury) on its six-strong shortlist, along with A Place Called Winter by Patrick Gale (Tinder Press) and Mrs Engels by Gavin McCrea (Scribe UK). End Games in Bordeaux by Allan Massie (Quartet), Tightrope by Simon Mawer (Little, Brown) and Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar (Picador Australia) to complete the shortlist.

See more at: 

I’m only doing this to bribe you (side eyes at KacheeTee so you can attend the awards on May 9, 2016 on BM’s behalf, perhaps…- More on that later)


Would love to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s